For the 2023 Academic Scholarships from the Champlain TT Club, the Ontario Table Tennis Association selected David Xu as the recipient from Ontario.

Congratulations to David, who will be in his second year University in September. He will receive $1,000 towards her tuition fees.

Thank you very much for this scholarship. I am incredibly grateful for all your support thus far and this scholarship will definitely help me continue to pursue table tennis as well as my studies. Currently, I am studying Nanotechnology Engineering at the University of Waterloo and will be starting my second year in September” David said when he found out he was the recipient.

In 2019 the scholarships of $1,000 each were given to:

OTTA: to Robert Cloutier, Para Table Tennis athlete from Ottawa
FTTQ: to Adina Cuchirita from Montreal

In 2020 the scholarships of $1,000 each were given to:

OTTA: to Joyce Xu from Toronto
FTTQ: to Matteo Martin from Montreal

In 2021 the scholarships of $1,000 each were given to:

OTTA: to Terence Yeung from Toronto
FTTQ: to Katherine Morin from Montreal

Background information

The Champlain TT Club was created by Mariann Domonkos 30 years ago at the CEGEP de l’Outaouais in Hull, on Champlain Street, which gave the name to the club. The club then moved to several locations over the years. When the CEGEP was completely renovated the club moved to Carleton University. Many coaches and administrators contributed to the development of the players in the club including Mariann Domonkos, Norm Tang, Adham Sharara, Donald Davidson, Attila Csaba, Guoxi Su, etc. The players were from both sides of the river (Ottawa and Hull). Norm Tang’s family were players at the club and Norm took an active role in the management of the club together with Mariann, and later with Mr. Su and then with Attila. The club is no longer in existence, but it has a fund that was developed over the years. It is from this fund that scholarships are offered to players attending college or university from Ontario and Quebec, one from each province every year.

TTCAN’s Board of Directors, thanks Norm Tang and Mariann Domonkos for their generous and thoughtful contribution.

(Photo courtesy of OTTA)