In an unusually large field for ITTF elections, Canadian Bruce Burton was elected ITTF Executive Vice-President at the Annual General Meeting in Düsseldorf, Germany.

Burton, a resident of St. John’s, Newfoundland, was elected by a solid margin over his contenders for the 8 person ITTF Executive Committee. He will serve as ITTF Executive Vice-President for a 4-year period when his position will be up for re-election.

Thomas Weikert of Germany was elected President of the ITTF, defeating former World #1, Jean-Michel Saive by a margin of 118-90.

Burton’s colleagues on the ITTF Executive Committee are: Shi Zhihao (China), Masahiro Maehara (Japan), Petra Sörling (Sweden), Nelson Tenca (Argentina), James Morris (New Zealand), Alaa Meshref (Egypt), Khalil Al-Mohannadi (Qatar).