On behalf of the Board of Directors of TTCAN, I congratulate the 6 athletes that have earned their place on the Canadian Team for the upcoming World Team TT Championships to be held in March in Busan, Korea:

Women: Joyce Xu (ON), Benita Zhou (BC) and Ivy Liao (BC)

Men: Jeremy Hazin (ON), Hong Tao Chen (ON) and Marko Medjugorac (QC)

Mo Zhang (BC) will join the selected women to complete the team; and a 4th man will be selected very soon by the HP Commission.

Two coaches will be named shortly to complete the team. Our High Performance Consultant, Dejan Papic, will be the Team Manager for the delegation. 

The selection tournament held on 10 January 2020 in Mississauga was attended by Board members Attila Mosonyi, Rob Chan, Alayna Chan and Adham Sharara. We witnessed some very high level table tennis and many of the matches were spectacular. Some of the players had to win some very close matches (16-14 in the 5th game) to qualify. This is the right way to build fighting spirit and to get ready for tough competition ahead at the WTTC. 

The Canadian delegation will be joined by two Canadian delegates, Rob Chan and Thorsten Gohl who will attend the ITTF’s AGM in Busan, and provide support to our team.

Our High Performance Consultant will inform the players of the next steps in preparation for the World TT Team Championships. 

Finally, I would like to thank Michel Legault for streaming the matches and producing the interviews with the selected players, as well as thanking on your behalf Thorsten Gohl for posting the interviews and arranging for photos and quotes to be posted by Michele Mathews to our Facebook page.

Congratulations to all selected players.

A final official announcement will be made once the entire delegation is complete.

Adham Sharara