Guaynabo, Porto Rico, 7 au 9 février 2020. La Coupe panaméricaine s’est conclue ce dimanche avec une 4e position de Mo Zhang, la seule athlète de l’équipe nationale canadienne qui a poursuivi dans le tableau principal jusqu’aux demi-finales. 

Les 3 autres représentants canadiens Marko Medjugorac, Jeremy Hazin et Sophie Gauthier s’étant tous inclinés à leur premier match. Pour ces jeunes athlètes, la Coupe panaméricaine a été une occasion rêvée de gagner en expérience internationale en se mesurant à des joueurs de très haut niveau. 

La plus expérimentée de l’équipe présente, Mo Zhang, 4 favorite, a joué son dernier match pour le bronze contre l’américaine, Wu Yue, 3e favorite du tournoi. Un match d’une grande intensité, les 2 joueuses s’échangeant les sets chacune leur tour. 9,-6,-21,116,-11,-3. Le 3e set en particulier s’est avéré des plus palpitants, se terminant 21-23 à l’avantage de l’américaine.  Le parcours de Mo Zhang s’est donc terminé suite à des victoires contre BRITO Eva DOM, TAKAHASHI Bruna BRA et des défaites en demi-finales contre ZHANG Lily USA et enfin pour le bronze contre  WU Yue USA.

Dimanche février 9 – 3 place

Mo ZHANG vs. Yu WU (USA) 3-4

Dimanche février 9 – Semi Final

Mo ZHANG vs Lily Zhang (USA) 0-4

Samedi 8 février – Quarts de finales

Mo ZHANG vs Bruna TAKAHASHI (BRA) 4-0

Une victoire convaincante pour Mo contre la joueuse Brésilienne #1.  Demain aura lieu le match de demi-finale contre l’américaine et quadruple médaillée d’or des Jeux panaméricains Lily Zhang.

Vendredi 7 février – Round of 16

Une victoire, trois défaites, mais d’excellentes expériences d’apprentissage pour nos Canadiens à Porto Rico. Mo Zhang a remporté son match du premier tour et affrontera la Brésilienne Bruna Takahashi en quart de finale. Jeremy Hazin a connu l’un de ses meilleurs matchs à ce jour, contre le Brésilien Hugo Calderano qui est actuellement le septième meilleur joueur mondial.

Sophie GAUTHIER vs Yue WU (USA) 0-4

Sophie: « Je suis heureuse de pouvoir rester dans l’échange avec Wu.  Je dois améliorer mes services et les retours de service. »

Mo ZHANG vs Eva BRITO (DOM) 4-0

Jeremy HAZIN vs Hugo CALDERANO (BRA) 1-4

Jeremy: « C’est certainement l’un de ses 3 meilleurs matchs de tous les temps. »

Marko MEDJUGORAC vs Gustavo TSUBOI (BRA) 2-4

Guaynabo, Puerto Rico, 7 to 9 February 2020. The Pan American Cup concluded this Sunday with a 4th position for Mo Zhang, the only National Team Athlete to make it into the semi-finals.

The other 3 Canadian National Team athletes Marko Medjugorac, Jeremy Hazin and Sophie Gauthier all bowed in their first game. For these young athletes, the Pan American Cup was a great opportunity to gain international experience by competing against very high level players.

The most experienced player of the team, Mo Zhang, 4th seeded, played her last match for the bronze against the American player, Wu Yue, 3rd seeded. A match of great intensity, the 2 players winning and losing sets each in turn. 9, -6, -21.116, -11, -3. The third set in particular, have been the most nail biting, ending 21-23 to the advantage of the American. Mo Zhang’s journey thus ended following victories against BRITO Eva DOM, TAKAHASHI Bruna BRA and losses in the semi-finals against ZHANG Lily USA and finally for the bronze against WU Yue USA.

Sunday February 8 – 3rd place match

Mo ZHANG vs Yu WU 3-4

Sunday February 9 – Semi Final

Mo ZHANG vs Lily Zhang (USA) 0-4

Saturday February 8 – Quarterfinals

Mo ZHANG vs Bruna TAKAHASHI (BRA) 4-0

A clear win for Mo against the #1 female player from Brazil. Tomorrow will be the match against the American and 4 times Pan American Games Gold medalist Lily Zhang.

Friday February 7 – Round of 16

One win, three losses, but a lot of great learning experiences for our Canadians in Puerto Rico. Mo Zhang won her first round match and will be facing Brazlian Bruna Takahashi in the Quarter Final stage. Jeremy Hazin had one of his best matches yet, against Brazilian Hugo Calderano who is right now the seventh best player in the world.

Sophie GAUTHIER vs Yue WU (USA) 0-4

At the end it was a 4-0 for the American Wu, but Canadian Sophie Gauthier definitely had her chances from the beginning on. In the last set it even went to 14-12. A great learning experience to participate in the Pan American Cup in Puerto Rico.

Sophie: “I am happy to be able to play rallies with Wu. I need to improve in serve and receive.”

Mo ZHANG vs Eva BRITO (DOM) 4-0

Jeremy HAZIN vs Hugo CALDERANO (BRA) 2-4

What a great match to watch with a 1-0 lead, a 2-1 lead and some amazing rallies for Jeremy against the worlds #7 Hugo Calderano from Brazil. At the end it was a 4-2 loss, but Jeremy definitely won the hear of the crowd.

Jeremy: “It’s for sure one of his best 3 matches ever.”

Marko MEDJUGORAC vs Gustavo TSUBOI (BRA) 1-4