The president,  Adham Sharara, announced a new initiative to recognise volunteers and staff who have provided long term service to TTCAN.
The first recipients of this special award were identified by the president and two of them were present at the AGM, 8-9 June 2019, in Ottawa to receive the Special Award in person.
Najam Chishti
Awarded for his service of more than 30 years as a volunteer official, umpire and president of the PEITTA. Najam was also elected to the TTCAN Board of Directors after serving as Chair of the Members Council of TTCAN.
Mike Skinner
Awarded for his service of more than 50 years as a volunteer official in Quebec and then Ontario, as well as an umpires, referee and tournament official at all levels in Canada and internationally including officiating at World championships and Olympic Games as umpire and referee. He was also a long time member and chair of TTCAN’s officials committee. He will continue to serve as an Adviser to the current Offices Committee and to the Board.
The other 4 recipients will be awarded at another occasion (Chandra Madhosingh, Bruce Burton, David Jackson and Tony Kiesenhofer).